Vanilla coffee & walnut cake

This recipe is basically the same as the Victoria sponge with a few alterations. It is another from Mary berry‘s ultimate cake book. I stole my copy from my mum when I moved out, it’s nearly as old as I am but not quite.

For the sponge 

4 eggs

2 heaped teaspoons instant coffee

225g butter/margarine

225g caster sugar

225g self-raising flower

2 teaspoons baking powder

For the icing

50g butter/margarine

175g icing sugar sifted

1 heaped teaspoon instant coffee, dissolved in a tablespoon of boiling water

1 tablespoon of milk

First of all pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius or gas mark 4. I am using two round silicone cake molds but you can use tins if you prefer. line them with baking parchment or grease with butter.

Now put the eggs in a bowl and whisk together.

The next step is to add the coffee, I’m going to dissolve it in a small amount of boiling water before I add it to the eggs. The coffee I am using is Little’s French vanilla flavoured. It is lush you could probably use vanilla extract or syrup if you just have normal coffee. I think the vanilla really adds extra flavour to the cake.

Now you can add the rest of the ingredients. I didn’t have quite enough self-raising flour so I made some by adding 1 teaspoon of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt to 260g of plain flour. I’ve never done this before so hopefully it will work out!

Blend them all together, I am going to use my electric whisk because it is just much easier.

Just divide the mixture up between the two tins and pop in the oven for 25 minutes. OH NO I have forgotten to add the baking powder I’ll just have to add that now!

They should be well risen, and spring back when poked! I checked mine a little bit early and one started to sink a little bit, but it should be fine.

When you take them out don’t turn them out straight away leave them for a few moments before turning out onto a cooling rack. The easiest way to do this is with a tea towel over your hand.

Remove the baking parchment really carefully, to make sure none of the sponge sticks to it. Put them in the fridge to cool down. While they are cooling you can start on the butter cream icing.

Mix together the butter, icing sugar (sifted), coffee and milk. I am going to blend them together by hand at first to make sure I don’t encounter some sort if icing sugar explosion.

I found it slightly runny so have added extra icing sugar. Check that the cakes are completely cool before butting the butter cream on, because if they are too hot it with melt and slide off. Use a pallet knife to spread the cream all over the top of one cake.

Next you can pop the other cake on top and do the same.

I am going to add walnuts and grated chocolate to the top. The chocolate has been sat in my car and has gone a funny shape & colour, but I’m sure it’ll be fine!

June 1, 2012. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

