Suzi’s Jubilant scones with strawberries and cream

I have fallen a bit behind with blogging about everything I have baked… I’m sure this post would have been far more helpful before the Jubilee! Never mind scones are still good any time and I think Wimbledon is on anyway or has that finished too? Anyway back to scones.

I made these scones for Suzi’s Jubilant birthday party. This is a fabulous picture taken by my friend Lucy, at the party. They look pretty good don’t they?

You will need:

60g unsalted butter chilled & in chunks

250g strong white bread flour plus a little extra for dusting

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 salt (I think I put a little too much in)

175ml buttermilk

I’ve taken this recipe from Step-by-step baking I seem to be working my way through it, it might take me a while as it as over 500 pages!

Preheat your oven to 220 degrees Celsius, then line a baking tray with parchment and grease with butter. Next sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a large chilled bowl. I put my nice large glass one in the fridge for a while.

Pop the butter chunks into the bowl keeping it all as cool as possible; I’m not really sure why this is but it sounds important. Rub the ingredients together to resemble breadcrumbs do this quickly.

make a pitted well in the mixture and slowly pour the buttermilk down in to it.

Use a fork to combine the mixture careful not to over mix it.

once the mixture has formed a dough you can turn it out onto a floured surface and kneed slightly. If the dough feels too dry you can add a touch more buttermilk.

Flatten the dough to about 2cm thick remembering to keep it as cool as possible. You can then cut out the scones and arrange them the baking tray evenly spaced.

Now just pop them in the oven for 12-15 minutes until golden.

And there you go easy peasy and hardly any washing up! Serve with cream, jams, strawberries or butter. You can also add currants to the mixture how wonderfully English. 

June 24, 2012. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

